Division Names

 

Lately I have been putting some thought into this year’s division names.  Here in the 13th season of MLOM, we now enter our eighth season featuring divisional play.  Believe it or not, division names are actually important as they can push me to do more or less with the Commish notes accordingly.  Here’s a quick recap of the previous division names:

-2004: Blue Knights/Red Knights

-2005: Ninjas/Samurai

-2006: Autobots/Decepticons

-2007: Galactic Empire/Rebel Alliance

-2008: GI Joe/Cobra

-2009: X-Men/Brotherhood of Evil Mutants

-2010: Aliens/Predators

 

As one can see the names started off rather generically and have proceeded into more childhood-driven science fiction territory.  And frankly, that’s fine territory as far as I’m concerned.  I feel like 2006 thru 2008 represents the golden age of the division names so far.  As the years go on, it will likely become harder to think up two clearly antagonist sides for proper division names, and I will have to get more creative.  I have already decided that the 15th (anniversary) season will feature a Lord of the Rings based theme for the divisions, probably the most obvious choice left in the tank.

 

The options I am currently considering rely on similar themes, with several options drawing heavily again from childhood fancy and science fiction/comic books.  There have been others tossed around as well in recent years which I bring back to the surface again; possibly they’ll “take” this time around.  And I have a couple of new ideas as well.

 

Here’s what I am currently considering:

Justice League of America/Legion of Doom (This one’s been talked about before.  It sets up nicely for what I try and do with the Commish notes, with superheroes being obvious metaphors for teams and heroes/villains being obvious foils for interdivision rivals.   The downside is my lack of DC knowledge base relative to Marvel, and would you really want your team being compared to Hawkman or Green Lantern?  Still, this one might have legs. )

Marvel vs. DC (More of the same, only it’s probably not fair.  The Crackheed’s division would surely be Marvel, and the bias in that direction would be off the chart.  Though looking at overall Crown patterns, it really is accurate, with the great teams of the would-be Marvel division reflecting the diversity of strong Marvel Heroes and Batman (Eryn) and some other half decent hero (I don’t know, Superman? I guess that would be Gabe’s 2000 Crown) carrying the rest of the dead weight (FYI: Little Buhr is Wonder Woman in this scenario.) 

X-Men vs. Avengers (Actually since we did X-men two years ago this one is unlikely to win.  I kind of wish I did this match-up originally instead, as I think it lines up better and the Avengers (Captain America, Iron Man, Hulk) are more known than the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants.  Also, it’s important to incorporate The Hulk into anything I possibly can, and this allows me to do that.)

East Coast Rap/West Coast Rap (Tossed this one out before as well.  At first look I think West Coast has the clear advantage, at least in my head, though East Coast does sport Biggie, Puff Daddy, LL Cool J, and possibly the Beastie Boys could be counted?  I don’t know.  Seems decent, possibly fun, but doesn’t blow me away.)

Indiana Jones/James Bond (This one I thought of recently and I like the asymmetry.  Overall seems to balance out pretty well.  The Bond division players would be compared to the actors of course and Indiana Jones players would be the films, or something along those lines.  Bond and Jones villains alike would be fun to mess around with as well. )

Rock/Metal (I like this one a fair bit actually.  Generic and broad, but interesting possibilities.)

Other thoughts:

-Bloods/Crips

-Rome/Carthage

-Roman Gods/Greek Gods

-Thundercats/Masters of the Universe

-Warner Brothers/Hanna Barbara (not really an even match)

-Simpsons/South Park

And more.  As thoughts pop into my head, I’ll comment on them prior to deciding.  Comments, votes, and suggestions are all welcome.

 

Commish

4 responses to “

  • Gabe

    Of the list above Mick, I think I would vote for Bonds vs Villains. Seems like there should be some other options out there, I’ll put my thinking cap on and get back to you. Maybe in honor of your new pets we could do Dogs vs Cats?

  • Gabe

    In honor of your t-shirt, Bears vs. Sharks?

  • baditude

    Of the ones you listed here I like:

    – Rome/Carthage
    Losts of great imagery here. Crossing the Alps, Double Envelopment at Cannae, Slaughter at Trasimene, Flavian Tactics, the reversal of fortunes at Zarma with Scipio Africanus, salting the earth. good stuff.

    – Roman Gods/Greek Gods
    Also good. Hundreds of great stories and Legneds to pull from. Would you actually pit Romans v Greeks or would you use the mythollogy in general…in which case how would you divide the league? I guess you could go Gods v Titans?

    – Xmen v Avengers
    You can always go back to Xmen…people love sequels!

    – I also kinda like Gabe’s dogs versus cats. Especially if you can include things like wolves, dingos, and all the big cats.

    some other ideas:
    Have we done video game stuff? Classic Nintendo brawls like King Koopa and his hammer bros, Koopa Troopas, and Goombas, versus Mario, Luigi, Toad and company? What about Street Fighter versus Mortal Kombat? I feel like we must have done street fighter before…

    Ummm…American West? Outlaws versus Lawmen? (fictional or non-fictionl) Wyatt Earp versus JESSIE JAMES! Doc Holiday, Eastwoods Man with no name, Butch and sundance, Wild Bill? Anything from deadwood…

    American Civil War, (who wants to be the confederates? 😛 )

    ummm Order of the Pheonix versus Deatheaters? Probably not “FF material”

    Police Squad versus Airplane (based on your recent FB blast)

    Lawn Service versus Lawn Service 2

    pimps v hos

    im loosing steam here.

    -E

  • discostup

    Ah, nice replies boys. Gabe I actually was mulling “Bond vs. Bond villains” after I wrote the post. With Jaws, Odd Job, and Scaramonga (extra nipple – Gabe that’s all you), and others, vs. the actors, it gives some nice potential. It’s moved up the list. I also thought of Dogs vs. Cats but then thought, who would want to be cats? Eryn, I also like your ideas – I feel like Rome/Carthage would favor those of us who read about history the most: You, me, and Iwan, so it might be a little narrow. I like the video game concept and will mull it over as well. SF vs. Mortal Kombat looks pretty good, too, or maybe just SF “Good guys” vs SF “Bad Guys”. Again, possibly a narrow topic. How many “You play him!?!” jokes could Fwats and I make? (Answer: A lot.)

    I thought of both the Civil War (who’d want to be the South other than racist Adam?) and Harry Potter (I think you’re right on with it not being up to FF material snuff, though Iwan jokes would be endless.)

    I’m also thinking of Knight Rider vs. A-Team (or some other 80’s themed TV show move) and a Sly Stallone vs. Chuck Norris (would consider Arnold focusing on his movies not his politics and possibly Bruce Willis).

    I’ve got some other ideas slowly brewing as well. Hopefully I’ll make another update later this week.

    Thanks for the comments!

    Commish

Leave a Reply

